Sphedamnocarpus galphimiifolius Szyszyl.

E. Launert FZ 1963
Tall woody climber or creeper; stems +/- densely yellowish-or greyish-sericeous or greyish-pubescent, sometimes glabrescent, especially on oldest parts. Leaves petiolate; lamina 2-6.5 x 0.7-3.5 cm., ovate, ovate-lanceolate or lanceolate, acute or distinctly apiculate, basally cordate, subcordate, rounded or cuneate, with 2 stalked or sessile glands on the lower margin, mostly near the insertion of the petiole (in a few cases glands in the upper part of the petiole), upper surface yellowish-sericeous or finely pubescent, often glabrescent, lower surface yellowish-sericeous, sometimes glabrescent except the midrib; petiole 0.5-1.7 cm. long, canaliculate, +/- densely sericeous; stipules 3-7 (10) mm. long, oblong, ovate or ovate-oblong, obtuse or sometimes apiculate. Umbels 2-4 (6)-flowered, terminating leafy branchlets; bracts c. 3 mm. long, linear-lanceolate; bracteoles very small, oblong. Flowers 2-2.3 cm. in diam. Sepals c. 4 mm. long, obovate, oblong or obovate-oblong, sericeous or nearly glabrous outside. Petals c. 1 cm. long, bright yellow or cream, broadly obovate or suborbiculate, shortly unguiculate, crisped at the margin. Stamens with anthers c. 1 mm. long, elliptic; filaments 3-3.5 mm. long, subulate, glabrous. Ovary densely sericeous; styles 3-5 mm. long. Samara with wing 14-20 x 5-9 mm., obliquely oblong or oblong-obovate, mostly slightly curved downwards, not extending to the base of the nut, sericeous to almost glabrous, sometimes purplish.
Acridocarpus galphimiifolius A. Juss.: Acridocarpus pruriens var. laevigatus Sond.: Sphedamnocarpus woodianus Ar
Flora Taxon: 
Sphedamnocarpus galphimiifolius Szyszyl.

Add new comment

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith