Flabellariopsis acuminata (Engl.) R. Wilczek

(Engl.) Wilczek
E. Launert FTEA 1968
A strong woody climber up to 6 m. or more in length; stems terete, lenticellate, usually glabrous. Leaf-lamina varying from elliptic-lanceolate to oblong or oblong-elliptic, 6-13 x 2.5-6.5 cm., +/- abruptly apiculate or acuminate, broadly cuneate, rounded or subcordate at the base, subcoriaceous, usually glabrous on both surfaces (rarely pubescent when young), with 5-9 pairs of lateral nerves and with 2-4 circular glands near the margin at the base beneath; petiole 0.5-1.5 cm. long, canaliculate, sparsely pubescent or glabrous; stipules +/- 1 mm. long, linear-subulate, soon deciduous. Inflorescences pubescent to sometimes tomentose, few-flowered; bracts oblanceolate or elliptic, 3.5-5 mm. long, pubescent, usually persistent; bracteoles very small, deciduous. Flowers 1-1.5 cm. in diameter, whitish or yellowish; pedicels up to 20 mm. long, slender. Sepals oblong-elliptic, (2-)3-6 mm. long, tomentose outside, pubescent inside. Petals obovate or broadly elliptic, 5-8 mm. long, entire but sometimes crenulate or ciliolate at the margins; claw 3-4.5 mm. long. Anthers oblong, 1.5-2 mm. long, usually +/- pilose; filaments 2-3 mm. long, glabrous. Ovary tomentose; styles filiform, 2.5-4 mm. long. Samara 2.4 2.7 cm. in diameter; apical wing 8-10mm. broad; lateral wings 2.8-3 x 1-1.4 cm.; often all wings lacking especially in very mature fruits. Fig. 6.
Brachylophon acuminatum (Engl.) Niedenzu: Brachylophon acuminatum var. niedenzuianum (Engl.) Brenan: Brachylophon niedenzuianum Engl.: Brachylophon niedenzuianum var. acuminatum (Engl.) Niedenzu: Triaspis acuminata Engl.: Triaspis lateriflora
Flora Taxon: 
Flabellariopsis acuminata (Engl.) Wilczek

Add new comment

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith